－6－de Venoge was established in Epernay in 1837 by a Swiss, Henri Marc de Venoge, when he was already 60 years old. He named the Maison after the Venoge River which ows into Lake Geneva near his home town. In 1838, de Venoge became the rst winery in Champagne to create a coloured label featuring an illustration of the bottle, and Henri Marc became a well-known gure in Epernay society.His son Josef who took over the business in 1845, created Cordon Bleu as the emblem of de Venoge in 1851. The name recalls the Venoge River. It also signies the Order of the Holy Spirit created by Henri III in 1578. Due to the blue riband from which the Cross of the Holy Spirit was hung, the knights became known as Les Cordons Bleus. Over time it became the symbol of quality and nobility, a lover of good food and drinks from the dinners organized by the king. Coincidentally, the Cordon Bleu cooking school later drew on this heritage when it was founded in 1895, by the journalist and publisher of La Cuisinière Cordon Bleu magazine.Celebrating the 130th anniversary of the Eiel Tower in 2019 RRP￥15,000de Venoge Princes Brut Tour Eiel NVCODE11080Origin: Champagne AOC, FranceVarietals: Pinot Noir, Pinot Meunier, Chardonnay 1/3 each* Montagne de Reims, Côte des BlancsReserve wine: 2013 Disgorgement: January 2019 Dosage: 6 g/L Alc. 12.0%Beautifully balanced, elegant and intense, with oral aromas, it develops complex and delicate notes on the lingering nish. Perfect for an aperitif.LimitedreleaseLimited to 60◆ 33 Avenue de Champagne, EpernayWhen the Champagne region was registered as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2015 for the ‘Champagne hillsides, houses and cellars’, the ‘houses’ that were celebrated were located in the region’s largest city of Reims, together with the town of Epernay. Situated on the Marne River, with a population of approximate-ly 23,000, Epernay is home to several famous Champagne Maisons including Moet et Chandon, Boiselle, Perrier-Jouet and Pol Roger, which have played an important role as distribution centers in the Champagne region for generations, as well as attracting tourists and champagne lovers from around world.One of the most stunning houses, at 33 Avenue de Champagne, is the Maison de Venoge. Built in 1900 for Gallice family who were the owners of Perrier-Jouet at the time, de Venoge bought the house in 2015 and set about restoring to its original 1901 glory. In doing so, it became the rst Champagne house to open its doors to Champagne lovers and the general public. The stables behind the house are now home to the L’Ecurie Champagne bar, where visitors can enjoy de Venoge Champagne, coee and snacks. In addition, the guardhouse has been converted into a boutique hotel with 4 suites, where you can enjoy the luxury of walking to a restaurant in town while staying on Avenue de Champagne.The house also has 2,100 square meters of grounds that were designed by one of France’s leading landscape artists of the 19th century, and a 400 square meter cellar containing all de Venoge’s current releases and a collection of 20,000 bottles from vintages from of 1961 to 1994. The elegance and renement of the House perfectly embodies the image of de Venoge, providing a unique place for Champagne lovers from around the world to experience the quality and heritage of the brand.◆ de Venoge and Cordon Bleu◆ The de Venoge decanter bottle and namesA distinctive feature of de Venoge is the innovative decanter design of the bottles used for the ‘Princes’ and ‘Louis XV’ ranges. The bottle is modelled on a 19th century crystal decanter, and has been used since 1961 for secondary fermentation, remuage, dosage and aging. The idea for the decanter comes from 1858 when de Venoge was supplying Cuvee de Princes to the Duke of Orange of the Royal family in Holland (and his sons, The “Princes”). Because the remuage was not as good as it is today and there were still deposits in the bottle, they would decant their Champagne. Also for Royal service, they wanted their Champagne served in and poured from a decanter, so the decanter design was born. de Venoge has used the ‘Princes’ name since 1858, and in 1961 released Maison de Venoge : Part 1―― Treasuring the past, evolving the future.de Venoge (Champagne, Epernay, France)LocalReport［Current logo］Since its founding in 1837, Maison de Venoge has not simply pursued quality, it has also been a leader in creating the premium reputation that Champagne enjoys today. With three distinct Champagne ranges, ‘Cordon Bleu’, ‘Prince’ and ‘Louis XV’, and several Champagne milestones rooted in their heritage, de Venoge constantly draws on its history to rene its Champagnes and engage with Champagne lovers around the world. In Part 1 of this story, we take a look at some of de Venoge’s distinctive milestones in their marketing and history.the ‘Princes’ range. In 1964, they registered the trademarks ‘Cordon Bleu’ and “Princes”.‘Louis XV’ is named after King of France Louis XV, who on May 25, 1728 authorized the transport and sale of Champagne, and only wine from Champagne, in bottles (everything at the time was transported in casks), which enabled the second fermentation in the bottle which is the unique characteristic of Champagne. de Venoge chose it as an appropriate name for a special vintage cuvee made only from Grand Cru grapes, and the trademark was registered and the rst wine from the 1995 vintage released in 2005.de Venoge were very innovative in terms of marketing early on, developing numerous labels and private names. In 1864, the year the National Institute of Intellectual Property was created, Josef de Venoge registered 5,000 brands, the largest registration of brands in France. The company still retains many of these trademarks and the labels attached to them, and in their oce have a production book with around 15,000 labels, mainly from the 19th Century and early 20th Century which show the full range of Josef de Venoge’s imagination in creating brands and designs, plus labels printed for many other houses.In the same vein, de Venoge was one of the sponsors of the 1889 Paris World Exposition, held to mark the 100th anniversary of the French Revolution, which included the construction of the Eiel Tower. To celebrate the Tower’s 130th anniversary, de Venoge negotiated with the City of Paris for the rights to write Tour Eiel on the bottle, the rst time ever that the name is used on a bottle of Champagne (use of the image is not subject to copyright). The result was a limited release of ‘Prince Brut Tour Eiel NV’.In Part 2 we will introduce the relationship with the quality grape growers, the commitment to using only rst press juice (tete de cuvée), and de Venoge’s approach to disgorgement and dosage, and more.